fall 2010 tv upfront pickups / today

Even though the network TV upfront presentations don’t begin until Monday, word has been pouring in from sources all over the place revealing what shows have picked up or canceled. Among the shows returning for another season are Chuck, V (awesome) and Human Target (especially awesome). And among the series not returning are Heroes (sucks.. but not much of a surprise), FlashForward, Mercy (aww 😦 ), Better Off Ted (aww again), Happy Town, Scrubs, Sons of Tucson and The Wanda Sykes Show.. For those who’ll be missing Heroes, there will be two new superhero-themed dramas this fall — ABC’s No Ordinary Family and NBC’s The Cape (starring Summer Glau). And on top of that, Smallville will be returning for its tenth season. 🙂

Not that I care about this show, but I thought that I would mention it anyway. NBC has canceled Law & Order after TWENTY seasons on the air. Wow. Law & Order: Special Victims Unit has been renewed though, and will be joined at NBC by LOLA… aka Law & Order: Los Angeles. :p

After my dad went to bed, I screwed around with the TV again, trying to get the audio to work with the HDMI cable. No luck, of course. And when I finished, the audio wouldn’t work at all. I assumed it was due to me ignoring the PS3’s warning that a certain audio configuration would damage the speakers, then I went into deep depression mode. I eventually fell asleep and dreamed of my dad magically fixing the problem like he sometimes seems to do. But once I awoke and realized it was all a dream, I was saddened all over again. I acted like I was asleep as my dad tried to work the thing, then I got up and depressed some more.

And then I remembered a switch on the back of the TV that I hadn’t put back into its previous place.. and did so. And the audio was restored. *phew* What if I had really screwed up everything? Ugh. Don’t want to think about it anymore. 😐 However, my crappy cheap VCR has fallen for its last time (it did a lot due to its short cables). During my screwings, it dropping twice and during the second time the cable came out the back of it. I had to remove it in order to get the cable working again. Oh well. I hadn’t even used it in a few months anyway.

I got online for a bit, then watched Legend of the Seeker (good episode) and two episodes of Parenthood (again, not bad.. it’s nice to actually see Mae Whitman on TV for once rather than just her voice :p). And then I fell asleep pretty much until my dad returned home from dialysis. We watched some Ellen, then I got online again. A bit later, we watched Mentalist (nice) before he fell asleep.

I followed that with four more episodes of X-Men Volume 3 (nice episodes, but I think I shall take the weekend off and consider whether to do Vol 4-5 next week or take a break with Ninja Storm.. hmm.. I am getting a bit tired of it) and United States of Tara (good show.. and good episode.. *drools a bit @ the daughter plot* :p ).

My dad began waking up at this point, so I got online to news-gather. We eventually had a cheap supper.. In primetime, we watched Smallville (wow, epic finale.. loved it.. nice set-up for the next season’s villains too.. i guess, if that’s what that was :p ), Primetime: What Would You Do? (not bad) and The Soup (lol.. more Community cast, nice).

Another day complete.. and not enough time for bottom links again. Damnit. Perhaps tomorrow.. See ya.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

