dvd ads dec 7-13 / krdk 1st promos / cw & nbc midseason / transformers ee 2009 / media / today

Click the corresponding retailer for their ad for the week of December 7th to 13th: Best Buy, Target & Circuit City. The huge disc release this week is no doubt The Dark Knight. The usual 2-disc DVD is $22.99 at all three stores. Best Buy is offering a Joker playing card, Target is offering Batman mask packaging with both DVD & Blu-ray versions (at additional cost), and Circuit City is offering a “Limited Edition” with Batman logo journal and alternate Joker cover art.. that is quite awesome. WalMart is offering a Harvey Dent replica coin and comic.. with the 1-disc DVD, while FYE and other TWEC stores are offering a steelbook. Surprised there isn’t more. Would’ve passed over all of these for a disc-based exclusive.. Lost: Season 4 is also out this week with very little fanfare. It isn’t mentioned in the Circuit City ad at all, Best Buy only mentions the Blu-ray version for $54.99, and Target offers the DVD for $37.99 and Blu-ray for $49.99. I’m still holding out hope that WalMart has the bonus disc again this year (Best Buy had it the first two seasons, then WalMart had it for the third)..

It’s now been revealed by the production team’s official website KamenRiderProductions.com that promos for Kamen Rider Dragon Knight will begin airing on CW4Kids this coming Saturday morning December 8th. Awesome. Now to go and set my DVR to catch them. :p

The CW has finally announced that Reaper will return for its second season on March 17th at 9PM ET, following 90210. Cooool. About time.. πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, NBC has set return dates for Chuck & Heroes — February 2nd. Chuck will return with a special 3D episode, while Heroes will be opening its new fourth volume, “Fugitives”. Joining them on Monday nights will be new episodes of Medium at 10PM ET. Nice. Super Bowl XLIII on February 1st will be followed by a new one-hour episode of The Office. πŸ™‚ Knight Rider will have its season finale on February 24th. I’m also looking forward to the thrilling miniseries XIII on February 8th & 15th, that is based on the video game and stars Val Kilmer.. Oh, and some crap called Celebrity Apprentice is back March 1st..

“From Paramount, we’re hearing that a Transformers: Extended Edition is planned for DVD and Blu-ray release in 2009, likely timed to coincide with the theatrical release of Bay’s sequel film next summer.” Hooray. Think I’ll wait and buy it on Blu-ray then..

I awoke in the morning, finished the damn previous entry, then saw some morning TV. But then I got ready and we soon headed out to media buy. And this week’s outing was surely something else…

First, I headed out to Target and bought five Pepsi 12-packs as part of a special deal — buy five for $15, get a $5 gift card. πŸ™‚ At the register, the cardboard handle ripped. The 12-pack of root beer fell a few inches to the counter, then one of the cans popped open and squirted the checkout lady’s shirt. Oops. :p None got on me though.. We completed the transaction, then had to get another 12-pack myself. I also bought some more PR CCG cards.. but I don’t think I got any new ones this time. Pretty sure I got some extra super rare gold cards for trade though. I NEED that awesome MMPR group card. They must’ve been the last Target to get them in, according to the PR CCG RangerBoard thread. No wonder it’s closing next month.. 😦

We moved on to the bank, where I got out my dad’s money. Then I visited WalMart.. and got nothing.. and visited Circuit City.. and got nothing. I was wanting to try and trick them into price-matching the $34.99 3-disc Blu-ray Narnia: Prince Caspian down to this Fry’s ad’s 2-disc Blu-ray price of $26.99. But neither one had the 3-disc. Circuit only had one copy left of the X-Files 2-disc as well. I also noticed a special cardboard stand at WalMart filled with Power Rangers RPM toys in the middle of a wide aisle. Cool that the series is getting some new attention. Too bad I buy pretty much everything Power Rangers but the toys. They’d just collect dust after all. :p

I finally made it to Best Buy and picked up X-Files: I Want To Believe 3-disc DVD for $24.99, Step Brothers 2-disc for $22.99.. and the Narnia: Prince Caspian 3-disc Blu-ray….. for only $14.99. I was trying to price-match the smaller-print Blu-ray price of $26.99, but the old lady at the register only read the $14.99 1-disc DVD price in larger-print, then I pointed out the “Blu-ray” printed below it (with $26.99 next to it in a thinner font) and she price-matched a whopping $20 off the price of the Blu-ray. Wow. We both celebrated my steal when I made it out to the car. I definitely wanted the 3-disc Blu over the 2-disc because besides the useless Digital Copy, it also has a thicker case (like a PS3 game case, only blue) and a nice slipcover. Disney’s Wall-E Blu-rays were the same way. I just can’t stand the tab on the basic Blu-ray case. Any chance not to mess with that = good.

I got my usual icee, then we visited a couple more places before finally returning home. We watched Ellen, followed by Chuck (haha, great episode). Then I got on Home Beta for a couple hours (first a pool tournament, now a bowling tournament.. cool.. too bad it’s in primetime tomorrow when I can’t join in). We had some supper (fried chicken.. must be the only person on Earth who doesn’t like it.. too much work to eat it.. I’m a real lazy ass), then I got online to news-gather and inventory the new discs..

In primetime, I let my dad watch some Christmas special while I organized my PR CCG cards. I got two or three new gold foil cards, so that was cool. I also updated my list of extra cards.. At 9PM, we watched Pushing Daisies (great episode.. and great Kristin Chenowith cleavage, I had to rewind it because I lost track of the plot.. honest, it was due to the plot.. her musical performance at the end was also great πŸ™‚ ) and last week’s CSI NY (pretty good episode, better than usual). Then I returned to my room for the night.

See ya.

[ FEMA Sources Confirm Coming Martial Law ]
[ Bloomberg – A ‘Great Recession’ Coming ]
[ Expect The Worst Recession Since WWII ]
[ The Last Thanksgiving Before GD2? ]
[ The Neo-Alchemy Of The Federal Reserve ]
[ Fed Monetizing Debt By Printing Money ]
[ ‘Experts’ Warn Obama Of A Nuclear Iran ]
[ Obama Too Important For Supreme Court ]
[ Hillary’s Disdain For International Law – Part I ]
[ Hillary’s Disdain For International Law – Part II ]
[ Mumbai Attacks More Complex Than Media Reports ]
[ Mumbai Attacks Gangland, CIA, ISI Turf War? ]
[ Coroner Clears Cops In De Menezes Execution ]
[ Six Questions About The Holocaust ]
[ Stem Cells Let Stroke Victim Speak Again ]
[ Neolithic Man Had First Aid Kits ]

3 Responses to “dvd ads dec 7-13 / krdk 1st promos / cw & nbc midseason / transformers ee 2009 / media / today”

  1. grnrngr Says:

    One of your extra golds isn’t “076 – Wild Force Megazord” by any chance?

    Let me know if it is πŸ™‚

  2. prometheusufo Says:

    Nope, sorry. I had my extra foils listed in with my foil collection, but I’ve now changed that. Here’s all I got for foil extras so far:

    010 – [Holo Foil] PRJF Blue Jaguar Zord *
    032 – [Gold Foil] PRSPD Power Rangers S.P.D. ***
    078 – [Gold Foil] PRRPM Engine King (Megazord) ***
    080 – [Holo Foil] PRSPD Blue Ranger S.W.A.T. Mode *

  3. grnrngr Says:

    (I really suck at remembering to check for replies to my LJ comments)

    If you’ve still got that foil #80, I’m interested. I’ve got a handful of foils to trade, and a bunch of everything else (but golds). I’d also buy it.

    Let me know (I’ll bookmark this this time πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

