dvd ads aug 24-30 / firefly blu / media / today

[Current Music Download|Coldplay – Viva La Vida @ MediaFire]

Click the corresponding retailer for their ad for the week of August 24th to 30th: Best Buy, Target & Circuit City. The only major release I see this week is Heroes: Season 2, and all three stores have exclusives for it. The one I’ll likely go for is Target’s “Deluxe Edition”, which features alternate packaging, “30 minutes of footage” and a sketchbook. That can be had for $32.99, or get their regular edition for only $24.99. Circuit City has Heroes: Season 2 for $24.99 as well and provides an exclusive film cell at no additional charge. Best Buy has a Takezo Kensei mask replica gift set for $34.99, or get the regular edition there for $29.99.. Target is also advertising their price for Heroes on Blu-ray — Season 1 is set at $74.99, while Season 2 is set at $44.99.. “30 minutes of footage”, eh? Target has attempted to fool us in their wording before. I just hope that this is a bonus disc, and not just the special features already on the basic DVD set. I really wished one of these exclusive packagings sounded similar to Target’s awesome Season 1: Collector’s Edition set, but they don’t. 😦

Firefly: The Complete Series will be heading home on Blu-ray Disc on November 11th. It will feature all the episodes (of course), all the special features from the DVD release, as well as a new episodic commentary and reunion featurette. And the cover art looks to be an improvement over the DVD art as well, in my opinion. 🙂 And the SRP is set at $89.99..

I awoke before my alarm and got online for a bit, then I got ready and we soon headed out to media buy…

First, I headed to Target.. and considered Camp Rock again. $15.99.. with 20min exclusive bonus disc. Nah. Think I’ll wait for the inevitable double dip.. I did get some water, Diet Pepsi and Code Red though. Target had Dexter: Season 2 for $27.99, wrapped together with their “exclusive”: a paperback copy of Darkly Dreaming Dexter, the book on which the series is based. I passed on it for Best Buy’s cheaper price ($24.99).. but I’m starting to regret it now.. I moved on to Best Buy, where I picked up Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles – The Complete First Season. Their Limited Edition Steelbook is awesome. And they’re trying to convey how limited it is by having about 10 or so copies of it on the shelf, alongside the basic yawnworthy packaging version (pictured above). I also picked up Dexter: Season 2, as well as Death Note, Volume 6 a whole week early. 🙂

I got the usual icee, then headed some. After some late breakfast, I got online for a bit to inventory the new discs. Then I watched the first three episodes of Dexter: Season 2 (awesome show.. though I’m getting heavily conflicted over downloading as Season 3 airs, then getting the DVD.. or just wait for the DVD.. it’s great watching them altogether for the first time like this), followed by The Middleman (haha, good episode.. but I somehow forgot to DVR it, so I had to quickly download it and transfer it to the PS3.. the audio sounded a bit tinny :/).

Next, we had supper and I got online to news-gather. I finished up by 8PM, then we watched Wipeout (heh), Wanna Bet? (those pit girls cheated :/) and some.. of that show after it.. Then I returned to my room for the night.. and read more Infinite Crisis..

See ya.

[ Balance Of The World Shifted In Six Days ]
[ Are You Ready For Nuclear War? ]
[ Rice – Russia Playing Very Dangerous Game ]
[ Russia And Georgia In Tense Prisoner Exchange ]
[ China Fakes Olympics – US Fakes Most Everything ]
[ ‘Large’ US Bank May Fail Soon ]
[ Ex-IMF Chief – ‘The Worst Is Yet to Come’ ]
[ Video: The Worldwide Battle For Water ]
[ Video: Lieberman Claims No Evidence of WTC7 Collapse ]
[ Defense Spooks – Let’s Control Enemy Minds ]
[ 62% Americans Want Better Presidential Choices ]
[ Tallest Skyscraper In The World Almost Completed ]
[ Psychedelic Drugs Could Heal Thousands ]
[ Bizarre Species Discovered In Antarctica ]
[ ‘Bigfoot Body’ Just A Halloween Costume ]
[ Video: Bigfoot ‘Body’ Hoax Exposed ]

Leave a Reply

